A conviction of driving under the influence may have serious repercussions under Georgia law. Even a first offense conviction may mean jail time, fines, and a license suspension. If you are facing a DUI charge, the experienced team at Baker & Slider can help you evaluate the State’s evidence against you and formulate a solid defense strategy. Athens DUI attorney Jason Slider has worked for first the prosecution and then the defense over the past 13 years, so he is familiar with how these cases typically unfold. In fact, he has been named among the “Top DUI Attorneys in the State of Georgia” by the National Advocacy for DUI Defense group and assigned an AV rating by Martindale Hubbell (the highest possible peer review rating).
In Georgia, a person may be convicted of DUI if he or she is found to be in the actual physical control of a moving vehicle while under the influence of a substance that makes it less safe for him or her to drive. While most DUI convictions are based on the consumption of alcoholic beverages and a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or more, a DUI charge may also be based on the defendant’s use of drugs, toxic vapors, glue, or aerosol, and a DUI charge may be made even in the absence of a test of a person’s BAC.Potential DUI Penalties Under Georgia Law
Possible jail time, fines, the loss of driving privileges, and other penalties often accompany a DUI conviction in the state of Georgia. It is important to note, moreover, that the penalties increase substantially with each subsequent drunk driving conviction. A DUI first offense may trigger jail time of up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000, a driver’s license suspension of up to a year, 40 hours or more of community service, and a license reinstatement fee. A DUI second offense may result in up to a year in jail (with at least 48 hours behind bars being mandatory), fines of up to $1,000, a license suspension of up to three years, at least 30 days of community service, a license reinstatement fee, and a mandatory clinical evaluation. Depending on the results of the evaluation, the offender may also be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program at his or her own expense.
A defendant who is convicted of DUI three times with the third offense occurring within five years of the second conviction faces a minimum mandatory 15 days in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, five years with a revoked driver’s license, 30 days of community service, a mandatory clinical evaluation and possible substance abuse treatment program, the seizure of his or her vehicle’s license plate, and the publication of his or her name, picture, and address in the local newspaper at his or her expense. Subsequent DUI offenses in a ten year period may result in a felony conviction and other serious penalties. A defendant may also face felony DUI charges if he or she causes a serious injury or fatality.Consult an Experienced DUI Attorney in Athens About Your Case Today
Because of the heavy toll that a DUI conviction may take on a defendant’s freedom, finances, and future, it is very important that he or she hire an experienced drunk driving lawyer who will leave no stone unturned in the search for possible defenses, irregularities, or improprieties during the traffic stop, the breathalyzer test administration, and the arrest. To set up a free, confidential case evaluation with Athens DUI lawyer Jason Slider at Baker & Slider, call us today at (706) 208-1939 or contact us online. We help people accused of drunk driving in Athens, Jefferson, Watkinsville, and Danielsville, as well as other communities in Clarke, Jackson, Madison, Oconee, and surrounding counties.